Illustration of pupils sitting at desks in a classroom. E.U. Structural Funding in Ireland. National Development Plan website [logo]. European Union website [logo].
N.D.P. / C.S.F. Operational Programmes
Cohesion Fund
Community Initiatives
Ireland's N.U.T.S II & III Regions
N.D.P. / C.S.F. Evaluation Process
Case Studies of Programmes / Projects
Press Releases & Publications


< Back to table of 'Frequently Asked Questions'

What are the B.M.W. and S&E Region?
A key objective of the E.U. Structural Funds is to ensure balanced regional development both within regions and between regions. As part of an agreement between Ireland and the European Commission, for the purpose of the N.D.P. the county is divided into two regions. This division recognises the economic and social development needs of the regions and allocates specific funding to each region.

The Border, Midland and Western (B.M.W.) Region - Cavan, Donegal, Galway, Laois, Leitrim, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath.

Southern & Eastern Region (S&E) - Limerick, Carlow, Clare, Cork, Dublin, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Meath, Timpperary, Waterford, Wexford, Wicklow.

Two Regional Assemblies were established. Their role is to manage and monitor progress of the two Regional Operational Programmes

< Back to table of 'Frequently Asked Questions'

Photograph of a railway and construction workers.
Rail Improvements.
Visit the Adobe website to download Acrobat Reader for free.
Illustration of a person at a computer. Print this page
^ Top of page

You are here: Home > FAQs