Illustration of a bird flying over fields below. E.U. Structural Funding in Ireland. National Development Plan website [logo]. European Union website [logo].
What are the E.U. Structural Funds?
The Four Funds >
Eligible E.U. Regions - The Objectives
Ireland and the E.U. Structural Funds
N.D.P. / C.S.F. Operational Programmes
Cohesion Fund
Community Initiatives
Ireland's N.U.T.S II & III Regions
N.D.P. / C.S.F. Evaluation Process
Case Studies of Programmes / Projects
Press Releases & Publications

The Four Funds

Four individual funds are collectively known as the E.U. Structural Funds.

European Regional Development Fund (E.R.D.F.)
E.R.D.F. has the principal objective of promoting economic and social cohesion within the European Union through the reduction of imbalances between regions or social groups.

European Social Fund (E.S.F.)
E.S.F. is the E.U.'s financial instrument for investing in people. Its mission is to help prevent and combat unemployment, to equip Europe's workforce to face new challenges, and to keep people in touch with the labour market.

European Agriculture Guidance and Guarantee Fund (E.A.G.G.F.)
E.A.G.G.F. contributes to the structural reform of the agricultural sector and to the development of rural areas.

Financial Instument for Fisheries Guidance (F.I.F.G.)
F.I.F.G. is the specific fund for the structural reform of the fisheries sector.
Photograph of a car driving along a motorway.
Knock-Claremorris Bypass.
Visit the Adobe website to download Acrobat Reader for free.
Illustration of a person at a computer. Print this page
^ Top of page

You are here: Home > Overview > What are the E.U. Structural Funds? > The Four Funds?